

Ingenuity Prep

DRAFT Board Meeting Minutes

This meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act.

Please address any questions or complaints arising under this meeting to the Office of Open Government at opengovoffice@dc.gov.

Date of Meeting	May 30, 2024	
Start time	9:00 AM	
End time	11:05 AM	
Location of meeting	Ingenuity Prep/Zoom	
Board members in attendance	In Person Attendance • Yesim Sayin • Derrick Mashore • De-Lea Deane-Allen • Michael Bern • Evelyn Lee • Kendra Barlow • Will Stoetzer • Fred Walls Online Attendance • Vance Gregg	
Non-board members presenting	 IP Staff: Ashanti Herndon, Chief Financial & Operations Officer Ben Johnson, Chief Academic Officer Alteasha Ervin, Chief of Student Supports & Wellness Amy McDonald, Legal Counsel Rob Tate, Level Field Partners 	
Quorum	Yes	
Chaired by	Derrick Mashore	



Discussion		
Agenda Item	Summary of Discussion	
Welcome	Derrick thanked the board for their breakfast for staff and celebrated the joy of the 8th grade High School reveal parade.	
Board Business	The Board approved the minutes from the April 4 Board Meeting.	
Governance Committee	Michael Bern updated the Board on the current status of Board Members and Board Member terms. Board Members voted on the re-election of Board Members, the election of new Board Members and elected Officers.	
CEO Report	Will Stoetzer provided history and background on the current status of the Statesman sublease. This process has been lengthy and Will, Level Field Partners and legal counsel have been meeting bi-weekly with members of the Statesman team to come to agreement on business terms.	
	The Board engaged in a discussion of length of term which is five years with two years auto extensions. Also discussed were the rent credits Statesman will receive for the first five year term and the incentivization of them continuing to make building improvements beyond the initial five years. Building improvements to Statesmen will have to be approved by both Ingenuity Prep and the Department of General Services (DGS). The Board voted to approve with Will and Derrick signing the agreement once finalized with a review period for the Board to review any substantive changes and to ask questions.	
	Will then introduced the new Development and Communications Manager, Elizabeth Payne. Since Elizabeth began, Ingenuity Prep has seen an improvement in online engagement, which will be utilized to increase the profile for staff and student recruitment as well as cultivating new donors. Derrick highlighted that engagement with Board members around donor cultivation will be essential to make these efforts a success.	
Audit & Finance Committee	Ashanti Herndon shared updates to the FY25 Budget since the last board meeting including recognizing additional revenue and expense streams. The Board members approved the FY25 budget. Ashanti also shared an update from the Audit & Financial Committee and the decision to continue use of KBJ as the school's audit firm. Ashanti also presented for approval all	



	contracts of 25 thousands dollars or more for FY25. Declaration: Yesim Sayin is on the board of Empower K-12 and will be transitioning off that board in August 2025. The board voted to approve all contracts. Lastly, Ashanti shared for approval the amount of EOY bonuses that have
	been allocated based on existing policies and budgeted amounts. This recommendation came from our auditors during the FY23 audit.
	The Board discussed the addition of new FTEs and funding feasibility moving forward. There was also discussion regarding cash reserves and the upcoming funding of capital projects.
Academics & Mission Committee	De-Lea Deane-Allen shared with the board that she has stepped in to chair the Academics and Mission Committee with the transition of Frankie Brown from the board. De-Leah has worked closely with Ben Johnson, Alteasha Ervin and the committee to prepare for today. Education is facing many challenges, particularly workforce readiness and chronic absenteeism. Ben shared areas of strength and growth from the 23-24 school year as well as the focus areas for 24-25. He shared the obstacles and key steps for each academic focus area. Alteasha shared obstacles and key steps to address chronic absenteeism.
	There was Board discussion around chronic absenteeism trends across grade bands currently as well as pre and post pandemic. Ingenuity Prep was only up to 6th grade pre-pandemic so there is no comparative data pre and post. The board appreciates the transparency and candor with which the data is shared. A discussion also around the PK3 and PK4 attendance tracking and measures for non-compulsory grades also took place.
Closing	Will thanked the board for their engagement and look forward to more engagement this summer and into the fall.

Motions		
Motion	Made by Whom	Voting Results (Roll Call)
Approve the April 4 Meeting Minutes	Motion: Evelyn Second: Yesim	All in favor • Yesim Sayin - Y • Evelyn Lee - Y • De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y



		 Vance Gragg - Y Michael Bern - Y Kendra Barlow - Y Derrick Mashore - Y Will Stoetzer - Y Fred Walls was not present for this vote
Re-Elect Board Members	Motion: Evelyn Second: Michael	 All in favor Yesim Sayin - Y Evelyn Lee - Y De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y Michael Bern - Y Kendra Barlow - Y Derrick Mashore - Y Will Stoetzer - Y Fred Walls - Y Vance Gragg - Y
Elect New Board Members	Motion: Fred Second: Yesim	 All in favor Yesim Sayin - Y Evelyn Lee - Y De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y Michael Bern - Y Kendra Barlow - Y Derrick Mashore - Y Will Stoetzer - Y Fred Walls - Y Vance Gragg - Y
Elect Officers	Motion: Derrick Second: Yesim	 All in favor Yesim Sayin - Y Evelyn Lee - Y De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y Michael Bern - Y Kendra Barlow - Y Derrick Mashore - Y Will Stoetzer - Y Fred Walls - Y Vance Gragg - Y
Statesman Sublease Terms	Motion: Evelyn Second: Derrick	All in favor ■ Yesim Sayin - Y



		 Evelyn Lee - Y De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y Michael Bern - Y Kendra Barlow - Y Derrick Mashore -Y Will Stoetzer - Y Fred Walls - Y Vance Gragg - Y
FY25 Budget Approval	Motion: Evelyn Second: Fred	All in favor • Yesim Sayin - Y • Evelyn Lee - Y • De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y • Michael Bern - Y • Kendra Barlow - Y • Will Stoetzer - Y • Fred Walls - Y • Vance Gragg - Y Derrick Mashore was not not present for this vote
FY25 Contract Approval	Motion: Evelyn Second: Yesim	6 in favor, two abstensions • Yesim Sayin - Y • Evelyn Lee - Y • De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y • Michael Bern - Y • Kendra Barlow - Y • Will Stoetzer - Y • Fred Walls - abstain • Vance Gragg - abstain Derrick Mashore was not not present for this vote
Staff Performance Bonus Approval	Motion: Evelyn Second: Michael	All in favor • Yesim Sayin - Y • Evelyn Lee - Y • De-Lea Deane-Allen - Y • Michael Bern - Y • Kendra Barlow - Y • Will Stoetzer - Y



	Fred Walls - YVance Gragg - Y
	Derrick Mashore was not not present for this vote